WHAT HAPPENED TO SIL?!?!

Image

Happy October!

For those of you that finished Seconds: The Shared Soul Chronicles, you’ll have noticed a teensy bit of a lie. It wasn’t an intentional lie, I swear, but that doesn’t change the fact that I lied to you, dear readers, and for that I am eternally sorry!! >.<

Seconds had the audacity to claim that my new book, Sil in a Dark World, would be released Summer 2012. Whaaa . . .? Really, Seconds? Why you gotta lie like that? Well, that’s probably because Sil was SUPPOSED to be released Summer 2012. That was the plan all along, but frankly, ‘the plan’ wasn’t meant to be.

SO WHAT HAPPENED!? O_O What monstrosity could have kept this writer from delivering her promised work? What heinous occurrence could have forced me to lose my word?!

It isn’t a monstrosity so much as a dear thing, really. An impatient stub, if you will. Within my brain, there are lots of story stubs, waiting to be written. Some of them formed. Others incubating. And while I was working on Sil, one of them was a bit peskier than the rest. So pesky, in fact, that I found myself story-mapping at the most inconvenient times. At the dinner table, in the middle of the night, and even in church (heaven help me).

The story that budged its way ahead in line was We Who Wander Lost. The title is tentative, but the work is finished, and it is something I am truly proud of. After a year and a half of breaching this unknown world of ‘writing for others’, I finally feel one hundred percent secure in my technique. I look back at my other works and see flaws from time to time, but I also see that I am ever bettering. That I’ve been honing in on the craft of narrative. With my recently finished work, I just might have hit a place near the core. And it’s a good thing, no?

But before I talk it up too much, I’m sorry to say that We Who Wander Lost (or whatever its name ends up being) will not be published for quite a while. I’m saving it. For what? Hm. I wonder. Guess we’ll just have to see! And in the meantime, I’ll be completing Sil in a Dark World with the intent to publish before winter (fingers-crossed). So there you have it. A tiny fib was told, but I WILL deliver Sil before the snow falls for sure . . . er, maybe.

And for those of you that have been waiting for the promised Ardette spinoff trilogy? Have no fear! The WIP has not been cast away. Not in the least. Actually, I have . . . different plans for the work (since named “Atto’s Tale”) that I am very excited about! “Atto’s Tale” will no longer be a trilogy, but a miniseries released in e-formatted episodes. The first of these episodes will be free (hurrah!) and the subsequent chapters will be priced with a college student’s budget in mind. Once the series is finished, it will be gathered together and published as one jumbo print volume to be sold on Amazon and the like. Ah. I really can’t wait!

Now on a personal note. Things I have been loving recently include (but are not limited to): Inu x Boku SS (anime), La storia della Arcana Famiglia (anime), Xenoblade Chronicles (Wii game), Revolution (tv series), Wax Tailor (music), and we cannot forget the seasonal return of Boo Berry cereal!!

Were you distracted for a moment from the fact that I lied? No? I didn’t work? Aw, shucks. Well, anyways, sorry times a thousand for not delivering Sil, but please know that it was only because of something important (and pesky), which will meet the world at a later date!

Welp, I think that’s all for now . . .

Oh! And I should probably mention that my first four novels are available in print and for e-readers on Amazon, etc. Look for Seconds: The Shared Soul Chronicles and the Heart of Farellah trilogy today!

Lots of love and fallish good wishes to you all! XOXOXO

Leave a Reply

